Dead Men's Bones, Paperback

Dead Men's Bones Paperback

Part of the Inspector Mclean series



Dead Men's Bones is the fourth novel in James Oswald's phenomenal Inspector McLean series set in Edinburgh and is already a Sunday Times Top Five best-seller.

A family lies slaughtered in an isolated house in North East Fife...Morag Weatherly and her two young daughters have been shot by husband Andrew, an influential politician, before he turned the gun on himself.

But what would cause a rich, successful man to snap so suddenly?

For Inspector Tony McLean, this apparently simple but high-profile case leads him into a world of power and privilege. And the deeper he digs, the more he realizes he's being manipulated by shadowy factions.

Under pressure to wrap up the case, McLean instead seeks to uncover layers of truth - putting the lives of everyone he cares about at risk...The first three titles in the bestselling Inspector McLean series - Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, and The Hangman's Song, are all available as Penguin paperbacks and eBooks.

Fans of Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride will love James Oswald's writing.

Praise for the James Oswald and the Inspector McLean series: "A star of Scotland's burgeoning crime fiction scene." (Daily Record). "Crime fiction's next big thing."(The Sunday Telegraph). "Literary sensation...James overnight success has drawn comparisons with the meteoric rise of E L James and her Fifty Shades of Grey series." (Daily Mail). "Fifty Shades of Hay." (The Times). "Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers." (Daily Mail). "The new Ian Rankin." (Daily Record). "The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish." (The Herald). "A good read." (The Times). "An excellent start to what promises to be a fine series." (Guardian). "Classy, occasionally brutal, and with the odd suggestion of the supernatural, this will doubtless be another deserved hit.

Oswald's writing is in a class above most in this genre." (Daily Express).


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Thriller / suspense
  • ISBN: 9781405917094



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by James Oswald   |  View all


Item not Available

Available with free
standard delivery

Also in the Inspector Mclean series   |  View all