The Runaways : Book 6, Paperback

The Runaways : Book 6 Paperback



This book is from the 2015 Red House Children's Book Award shortlisted author.

It is a brand new animal adventure for 8+ readers set during World War.

It is one from classic-in-the-making and bestselling author, Megan Rix.

It is suitable for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Sarah Lean. Two friends, fighting their way home...Shanti and her calf Tara are beautiful circus elephants.

Harvey is the faithful old collie who leads the show.

In war they will perform their most death-defying trick yet.

When the First World War seizes Europe, Cullen's Circus is forced to close.

The men are sent to fight and the animals are torn apart from their keepers, and each other.

But while Shanti must help on a farm, it's little Tara who faces a far worse fate...Separated too soon from her mother, Tara's life is in danger.

Only old, brave Harvey can bring them back together. And so side-by-side, dog and elephant set out on an extraordinary journey across the English countryside - but can the unlikely friends find Shanti in time? Praise for Megan Rix: "If you love Michael Morpurgo, you will enjoy this." (Sunday Express). "A moving tale told with warmth, kindliness and lashings of good sense that lovers of Dick King-Smith will especially appreciate." (The Times). "Every now and then a writer comes along with a unique way of storytelling.

Meet Megan Rix...her novels are deeply moving and will strike a chord with animal lovers." (LoveReading). "A perfect story for animal lovers and lovers of adventure stories." (Travelling Book).

Company About the author: Megan Rix is the recent winner of the Stockton and Shrewsbury Children's Book Awards, and has been shortlisted for numerous other children's book awards.

She lives with her husband by a river in England. When she's not writing she can be found walking her two golden retrievers, Traffy and Bella, who are often in the river.

Also available by Megan Rix: The Great Escape, The Victory Dogs, The Bomber Dog, A Soldier's Friend and The Hero Pup.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Adventure
  • ISBN: 9780141357645



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK