Brighton, Hardback

Brighton Hardback



A gritty and suspenseful Boston thriller for fans of Dennis Lehane and The Departed You came back here to bury your past ...Thing is, you gotta kill it first Brighton, 1975: a Boston neighbourhood where racial tensions run high and gangs jostle for dominance in the trades that matter - drugrunning, book-keeping and theft.

Fifteen-year-old Kevin Pearce knows his best hope is to get the hell out before its bloody streets get a grip on his dreams.

Bitterness and brutality stalk the hard-drinking generations of his Irish immigrant family.

But when an act of violence tears their home apart, Kevin is forced to leave for New York, changing the course of his life forever.

Twenty-seven years later, in 2002, Kevin wins the Pulitzer Prize for an investigative article on the wrongful conviction and death of a man from Brighton, and decides to visit his old neighbourhood for the first time in decades.

But his past has long shadows - shadows which have taken on a life of their own. And when Kevin's prosecutor girlfriend Lisa asks his advice on a murder case, he is plunged into a web of deception and bloodshed that will test his loyalties to the limit and place the life he has built at risk. Grittily realistic, razor-sharp and darkly compelling, Brighton is about the meaning of family, the price of friendship, and survival in a world where one misstep can cost everything.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Crime & mystery
  • ISBN: 9781408878033



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Michael Harvey   |  View all



Available with free
standard delivery



Available with free
standard delivery