How to be Good, Paperback

How to be Good Paperback



How to be Good is Nick Hornby's hilarious bestselling novel on life, love and charity 'I am in a car park in Leeds when I tell my husband I don't want to be married to him any more...' London GP Katie Carr always thought she was a good person.

With her husband David making a living as 'The Angriest Man in Holloway', she figured she could put up with anything.

Until, that is, David meets DJ Goodnews and becomes a good person too.

A far-too-good person who starts committing crimes of charity like taking in the homeless and giving their kids' toys away.

Suddenly Katie's feeling very bad about herself, and thinking that if charity begins at home, then maybe its time to move...This laugh-out-loud novel, from the bestselling author of About a Boy and High Fidelity, will have you gripped from start to finish and will appeal to fans of David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe, as well as readers in need of a moral compass everywhere. "Pins you in your armchair ad won't let go...How to be Good?

How to be bloody marvellous, more like." (Mail on Sunday). "It does exactly what it says on the cover. Hornby's prose is artful and effortless, his spiky wit as razored as a number-two cut." (Independent). "The writing is so funny, and the set-pieces so brilliant...Hornby's best book since Fever Pitch." (Lynn Truss, The Times).




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Nick Hornby   |  View all