The Queen's Man : John Shakespeare - the Beginning, Paperback

The Queen's Man : John Shakespeare - the Beginning Paperback

Part of the John Shakespeare series



Includes BONUS short story For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, THE QUEEN'S MAN introduces the Queen's Spy John Shakespeare in the prequel to Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J.

Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times England is a Judas nest of conspiracy It is 1582, and the conflict between Protestant and Catholic threatens to tear the country in two.

While Queen Elizabeth I holds the reins of power, there are those whose loyalty lies with her imprisoned cousin, Mary Queen of Scots. On his first major mission for Sir Francis Walsingham, the young John Shakespeare is ordered to discover a conspiracy to free the Stuart queen from Sheffield Castle. All too soon, he realises that the tentacles of the plot reach deep into his native Warwickshire and threaten his own friends and family. His duty lies with Elizabeth - but how far will he go to protect those he loves?


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496 pages, 2 maps
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9781848548480



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Rory Clements   |  View all

Also in the John Shakespeare series   |  View all