Salt to the Sea, Paperback

Salt to the Sea Paperback



It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land.

Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories.

Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War.

When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board.

Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: General
  • ISBN: 9780141347400



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Ruta Sepetys   |  View all


Available for
immediate download


Available for
immediate download