Sophia - Biography of a Violin Concerto, DVD

Sophia - Biography of a Violin Concerto DVD

Directed by Jan Schmidt-Garre



Documentary tracing the creation of Russian composer Sofia Gubaidolina's 2nd violin concerto, from its inception to its first performance, 15 years later.

The film focuses on the creative processes and stresses involved in finally bringing the piece to its first public performance in 2007, with Anne-Sophie Mutter performing alongside Sir Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic.


  • Format: DVD
  • Region: 0
  • Certification: (Ex)
  • EAN: 0807280154597
  • Catalogue number: 101545
  • Studio: ArtHaus Musik
  • Release date:
  • Genre: Music/Performing Arts
  • Colour: Colour


Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also directed by Jan Schmidt-Garre   |  View all