Two Lives : Reading Turgenev and My House in Umbria, Paperback

Two Lives : Reading Turgenev and My House in Umbria Paperback



"Two Lives: Reading Turgenev & My House in Umbria" - two novels by William Trevor. "Evocative and haunting. Trevor writes like an angel, but is determined to wring your heart". ("Daily Mail"). "Marvellous, superb. As rich and moving as anything I have read in years.

When I reach the end...I wanted to start right again at the beginning". ("Guardian"). In "Reading Turgenev" an Irish country girl is trapped in a loveless marriage with an older man, but finds release through secret meetings with a man who shares her passion for Russian novels. "My House in Umbria" tells of Emily Delahunty, a writer of romantic novels, who helps the survivors of a bomb attack on a train to convalesce, inventing colourful pasts for her patients.

Two novels, two women who retreat further into the realm of the imagination until the boundaries between what is real and what is not become blurred..."One of the most beautiful and memorable things Trevor has written". ("Independent on Sunday"). "Reading Turgenev" was shortlisted for the Booker Prize.

Readers of "Love and Summer" and "Felicia's Journey" will adore "Two Lives".

It will also be cherished by readers of Colm Toibin and William Boyd. William Trevor was born in Mitchelstown, County Cork.

He has written eighteen novels and novellas, and hundreds of short stories, for which he has won a number of prizes including the Hawthornden Prize, the Yorkshire Post Book of the Year Award, the Whitbread Book of the Year Award and the David Cohen Literature Prize in recognition of a lifetime's literary achievement.

In 2002 he was knighted for his services to literature.

His books in Penguin are: "After Rain"; "A Bit on the Side"; "Bodily Secrets"; "Cheating at Canasta"; "The Children of Dynmouth"; "The Collected Stories" (Volumes One and Two); "Death in Summer"; "Felicia's Journey"; "Fools of Fortune"; "The Hill Bachelors"; "Love and Summer"; "The Mark-2 Wife"; "Selected Stories"; "The Story of Lucy Gault" and "Two Lives".




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by William Trevor   |  View all