Nothing More Dangerous, Paperback / softback Book

Nothing More Dangerous Paperback / softback

Share

Description

'This powerful, unforgettable crime novel is a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as William Kent Krueger's Ordinary Grace or Larry Watson's Montana 1948 . . . A must-read.' Library Journal (starred review)In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly.

A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri.

Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours - a black family in a community where notions of "us" and "them" still carry weight - Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted.

Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold. There's the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle. But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory.

Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world. As the mystery of Lida's fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town - and he will be forced to choose sides.

Information

£14.99

£11.83

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Allen Eskens   |  View all

£8.99

Available for
immediate download

£9.99

Available for
immediate download

£4.99

Available for
immediate download