Spitfire Saga : Rodney Scrase DFC, Paperback / softback Book

Spitfire Saga : Rodney Scrase DFC Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

  • Information


Rodney Scrase's life in the RAF began in an old airship shed where he took the King's shilling in May 1941.

He learnt to fly at a BFTS in America and went on the fly Spitfires with No 72 and No 1 Squadrons, finally being awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross in 1944.

He was released from service with a record of 4 destroyed and 3 damaged, having taken part in the invasions of North Africa, Sicily and Italy and a stint as an instructor in the art of air to air gunnery in Egypt before finishing the war flying escort missions with No 1 Squadron from Manston in Kent.

Spitfire Saga uses Rodney logbooks and first hand interviews with him and several other pilots.

Angus Mansfield presents the unique story of one man's experience of flying the most iconic aircraft of World War II.

Complete with thorough historical context and a true insider view of life as an RAF fighter pilot, this book is an excellent addition to any history enthusiast's library.

Other Formats