Lavery Plays : "Origin of the Species"; "Two Marias"; "Her Aching Heart"; "Nothing Compares to You" v.1, Paperback Book

Lavery Plays : "Origin of the Species"; "Two Marias"; "Her Aching Heart"; "Nothing Compares to You" v.1 Paperback

Part of the Contemporary Dramatists series



For the first time, Bryony Lavery's plays back in print in one volume Includes the plays Her Aching Heart, Nothing Compares to You, The Two Marias and Origin of the Species.

Her Aching Heart is "a deliciously irreverent parody of the historical romance, better known as the bonk-buster...Georgette Heyer never wrote anything quite like it, however and Barbara Cartland would be more than confused by this lesbian romance...hilarious" (Guardian); Nothing Compares to You is an evocation of a woman experiencing the loss of a loved one in the aftermath of a car accident "The characters may be touched by death but laughter is never far away...A haunting show of hidden depth" (Birmingham Post); "In Bryony Lavery's quirky Origin of the Species, an ardent archaeologist digging for prehistoric man finds instead a four-million-year old woman...a telling allegory of the loss of innocence...Lavery's wit and imagination are unquestionably present." (Obersver)Introduced by the author, Bryony Lavery's last play Goliath (adapted from Bea Campbell's book) was a hit at the Bush Theatre in 1997.

Bryony Lavery is one of Britain's foremost female playwrights.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 228 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Plays, playscripts
  • ISBN: 9780413723406



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Bryony Lavery   |  View all

Also in the Contemporary Dramatists series   |  View all



Available for
immediate download



Available for
immediate download