Dissolution, Paperback Book

Dissolution Paperback

Part of the The Shardlake Series series



Dissolution is the first in the phenomenal Shardlake series by bestselling author, C.

J. Sansom, followed by Dark Fire, Sovereign, Revelation, Heartstone and Lamentation. It is 1537, a time of revolution that sees the greatest changes in England since 1066Henry VIII has proclaimed himself Supreme Head of the Church and the country is waking up to savage new laws, rigged trials and the greatest network of informers ever seen.

Under the order of Thomas Cromwell, a team of commissioners is sent through the country to investigate the monasteries.

There can only be one outcome: the monasteries are to be dissolved. But on the Sussex coast, at the monastery of Scarnsea, events have spiralled out of control.

Cromwell's Commissioner Robin Singleton, has been found dead, his head severed from his body.

His horrific murder is accompanied by equally sinister acts of sacrilege - a black cockerel sacrificed on the altar, and the disappearance of Scarnsea's Great Relic. Dr Matthew Shardlake, lawyer and long-time supporter of Reform, has been sent by Cromwell into this atmosphere of treachery and death.

But Shardlake's investigation soon forces him to question everything he hears, and everything that he intrinsically believes . . .


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9781447285830



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by C. J. Sansom   |  View all

Also in the The Shardlake Series series   |  View all