A Poisoner's Tale, Hardback Book

A Poisoner's Tale Hardback

Hardback

  • Information

Description

Discover the dark and gothic historical novel inspired by the true story of Giulia Tofana, the first documented female serial killer in history.

Perfect for fans of The Familiars and The Lost Apothecary. ‘A mesmerizing story of power and subjugation… gripping and poignant from beginning to end’ - LAURA CARLIN'Gorgeous. . . brimming with rich detail and intrigue.’ C. J. COOKE‘Utterly captivating … Kemp is an astonishingly talented storyteller, and her characters will linger long after you’ve finished reading.' NAOMI KELSEY‘Gripping.

Devastating. A beautifully intense read.’ ISABELLE SCHULER--------------Murderer or saviour?

You decide. . . Rome, 1656In the shadowy backstreets of the Eternal City lies an apothecary’s shop – a place for women to take their heartbreaks and troubles.

Herbs for childbirth. Tarot readings to tell their fortunes. An undetectable poison that can kill in four drops. Alongside her circle of female poisoners, Giulia Tofana dispenses her deadly potion to free the downtrodden women of the city from their abusive husbands. A path she’s determined to follow after a harrowing childhood in Palermo. But even in a time of plague, it does not go unnoticed when the men of Rome begin to fall like flies. With a newly elected Pope hell-bent on ridding the city of heretics and witches, and the Holy Office of the Inquisition on her tail, Giulia is in more danger than ever. . . How far will she go for the women who need her help?Exploring the realities of what it is like to be a woman who rebels against society, A Poisoner’s Tale takes the reader on a tense, challenging but spellbinding journey.

This is not just a retelling of the legend of Giulia Tofana but an ode to sisterhood and motherhood, to defiance and secret rebellion. --------------Readers love A Poisoner's Tale:? 'A gut-wrenching, empowering and gripping feminist read'? 'An incredible debut that I simply could not put down'? 'This book will stay with me for a very long time'? 'Historical fiction at its best'

Information

Other Formats

Save 22%

£16.99

£13.12

Information