Dandy Gilver and the Proper Treatment of Bloodstains, Paperback / softback Book

Dandy Gilver and the Proper Treatment of Bloodstains Paperback / softback

Part of the Dandy Gilver series

Paperback / softback

  • Information

Description

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1920s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 1st May 1926 - Dear Alec, Just when those who should be working are all downing tools for this wretched strike (and I still can't believe it - I mean to say: riots, Alec - in Edinburgh of all places) guess who is setting her virgin shoulder to its very first wheel?

I am dressed in serge and sensible footwear, sleeping in an iron bed and dining off pickled tongue at six o'clock each day.

I am, in short, that nice young Mrs Balfour's new maid.

But don't worry, Alec dear: things haven't got as bad as all that.

It's just that that nice young Mr Balfour is going to kill his wife.

At least, she thinks so, and the more I hear about him from butler, cook and bootboy the more I'm inclined to agree.

So I'm undercover, in disguise, bent upon foiling. And jolly hard work it is too - tomorrow is my half-day free if you'd care take me out for a restorative bun. (Every maid needs a beau to buy buns for her.) Yours, Dandy xx p.s.

Ask for Miss Rossiter: below stairs I am she. Catriona McPherson's latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£7.87