Metallica : The Stories Behind the Biggest Songs, Paperback Book

Metallica : The Stories Behind the Biggest Songs Paperback



Metallica formed in 1981 in Los Angeles, California, their original line-up consisted of Ulrich, rhythm guitarist and vocalist James Hetfield, lead guitarist Dave Mustaine, and bassist Ron McGovney.

Mustaine and McGovney subsequently left and were replaced by Kirk Hammett and Cliff Burton.

Burton sadly died when the band's tour bus crashed in 1986 and Jason Newsted stepped in as a replacement staying until 2001.

Robert Trujillo later joined as the band's regular bassist in 2003.

With a growing fan base on the underground music scene, the band was also to achieve critical acclaim in 1986 with the release of their "Master of Puppets" album, widely regarded as one of the most intense and influential of all thrash metal recordings.

Fortune followed fame when their eponymous 1991 album (known to fans as "The Black Album") went straight to No 1 on the Billboard 200.

It has since sold over 15 million copies in the United States, which makes it the 25th highest selling album in the country.

Metallica has released nine studio albums, two live albums, two EPs, twenty-two music videos, and forty-three singles. The band has won seven Grammy Awards, and has had five albums debut at number one on the Billboard 200.

They had sold over 100 million records worldwide by the time their latest album, "Death Magnetic", was released in 2008.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 192 pages, 100 colour/bw photographs
  • Publisher: Carlton Books Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Heavy Metal music
  • ISBN: 9781847323392



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK