Landlocked, Paperback Book



The fourth book in the Nobel Prize for Literature winner's `Children of Violence' series tracing the life of Martha Quest from her childhood in colonial Africa to old age in post-nuclear Britain.In the aftermath of the Second World War, Martha Quest finds herself completely disillusioned.

She is losing faith with the communist movement in Africa, and her marriage to one of the movement's leaders is disintegrating.

Determined to resist the erosion of her personality, she engages in a love affair and breaks free, if only momentarily, from her suffocating unhappiness.




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Doris Lessing   |  View all