House of the Eagle : Book One of the Ptolemies Quartet, Paperback Book

House of the Eagle : Book One of the Ptolemies Quartet Paperback



The House of the Eagle begins Duncan Sprott's 'Ptolemies Quartet', an epic and ingenious restoration of the dark and glittering story of ancient Alexandria and the Greek Pharaohs of Egypt, whose extraordinary dynasty spans twelve generations from the death of Alexander the Great to the fall of Cleopatra.

Narrated by Thoth, the ibis-headed Egyptian god of writing and wisdom, this book details the rise of the shrewd Ptolemy I from ordinary soldier of Macedon to Satrap of Egypt, and his coronation as Pharaoh and a god in his own lifetime.

A triumph of historical salvage, The House of the Eagle brings vividly to life the most bizarre family that ever existed.


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Sagas
  • ISBN: 9780571219179



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Duncan Sprott   |  View all



Available with free
standard delivery



Available for
immediate download