Great Continental Railway Journeys: Series 1 to 4, DVD DVD

Great Continental Railway Journeys: Series 1 to 4 DVD



The first four series of the BBC documentary following Michael Portillo as he travels around Europe taking as his guide the 1913 pamphlet 'Bradshaw's Continental Railway Guide'.

Produced by cartographer George Bradshaw, the pamphlet documents a number of European railway journeys and the various towns and hamlets along the way.

With an eye to local cultures and traditions and the role each journey and the trains themselves played in the development of European history, Portillo revisits the locations described in the journal and reflects on the changes a century has wrought.

Series 1 episodes are: 'London to Monte Carlo', 'Hungary to Austria', 'Berlin to the Rhein', 'Switzerland' and 'Amsterdam to Northern France'.

Series 2 episodes are: 'Madrid to Gibraltar', 'Turin to Venice', 'Dresden to Kiel', 'Copenhagen to Oslo', 'Prague to Munich' and 'Bordeaux'.

Series 3 episodes are: 'Tula to St. Petersburg', 'Rome to Taormina', 'Warsaw to Krakow', 'La Coruna to Lisbon', 'Haifa to the Negev Desert' and 'Lyon to Marseille'.

Series 4 episodes are: are: 'Sofia to Istanbul', 'Vienna to Trieste', 'Pisa to Lake Garda', 'Athens to Thessaloniki', 'The Black Forest to Hannover' and 'Barcelona to Mallorca'.


  • Format: DVD
  • Region: 2
  • Certification: (Ex)
  • EAN: 5027626463540
  • Catalogue number: 7954635
  • Studio: Network
  • Release date:
  • Genre: General
  • Colour: Colour


Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK