Heimat: A Chronicle of Germany, DVD  DVD



Eleven-part series directed by Edgar Reitz chronicling over 60 years of turbulent German history from 1919 to 1982.

The story is centred around the economic meltdown that followed World War 1, the rise and fall of the Nazis, World War 2 and the subsequent rebuilding of East and West Germany in their two halves.

Set in a small fictional rural village, it follows the fortunes of a woman called Maria (Marita Breuer) who at the start of the series is a young girl, and by the end an old woman who has lived to tell the tale of some of history's harshest moments.

The episodes are: 'Fernweh - 1919-28', 'Die Mitte der Welt - 1929-1933', 'Weihnacht Wie Noch Nie - 1935', 'Reichshöhenstraße - 1938', 'Auf und Davon und Zurück - 1938/1939', 'Heimatfront - 1943', 'Die Liebe der Soldaten - 1944', 'Der Amerikaner - 1945-1947', 'Hermännchen - 1955/56', 'Die Stolzen Jahre - 1967-1969' and 'Das Fest der Lebenden und der Toten - Herbst 1982'.


  • Format: DVD
  • Region: 2
  • Certification: (15)
  • EAN: 5028836031765
  • Catalogue number: 2NDVD3176
  • Studio: Second Sight
  • Release date:
  • Genre: Drama
  • Colour: Col & B/W


Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK