Battle Song : The 13th century historical adventure for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane, Hardback Book

Battle Song : The 13th century historical adventure for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Ben Kane Hardback

Part of the de Norton trilogy series

Hardback

  • Information

Description

'A very promising historical adventure' - THE TIMES'A terrific novel' - HISTORIA MAGAZINE***'There is a fury in England that none shall suppress - and when it breaks forth it will shake the throne'1264 Storm clouds are gathering as Simon de Montfort and the barons of the realm challenge the power of Henry III.

The barons demand reform; the crown demands obedience.

England is on the brink of civil war. Adam de Norton, a young squire devoted to the virtues of chivalry, longs only to be knighted, and to win back his father's lands.

Then a bloody hunting accident leaves him with a new master: the devilish Sir Robert de Dunstanville, who does not hesitate to use the blackest stratagems in pursuit of victory. Following Robert overseas, Adam is introduced to the ruthless world of the tournament, where knights compete for glory and riches, and his new master's methods prove brutally effective. But as England plunges into violence, Robert and Adam must choose a side in a battle that will decide the fate of the kingdom.

Will they fight for the king, for de Montfort - or for themselves? Searingly vivid and richly evocative, Battle Song is tale of friendship and chivalry, rivalry and rebellion, and the medieval world in all its colour and darkness. ***Readers absolutely love BATTLE SONG:'Another five star Ian Ross novel!' *****'Truly is a masterclass in historical fiction' *****'The best historical fiction I've read in years.

Up there with Hilary Mantel!' *****'A great well researched novel' *****'Brilliantly researched, gorgeously plotted and blessed with a terrific cast of exquisitely drawn characters' *****'Well written and engaging characters' *****'Ian Ross writes with a class and style that leaves the reader or listener thirsting for more' *****'Brilliantly researched, gorgeously plotted and blessed with a terrific cast of exquisitely drawn characters' *****'A gripping tale of early England' *****'A really good story, brought to life by an excellent narrator' *****

Information

Other Formats

Save 23%

£21.99

£16.78

Information