Brood, Paperback / softback Book

Brood Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

  • Information

Description

'Fans of Elizabeth Strout and Anne Tyler will devour it.' - Daily MirrorDarkly witty, deeply moving - Jackie Polzin's Brood is a startlingly original debut novel about motherhood, marriage and grief, full of sorrow, joy and unrelenting hope. Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails - and all the while struggling to confront her own recent loss.

From the forty-below nights of a brutal Minnesota winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined. 'Full of surprise, humor, grief, and wisdom.' - Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves'The most vibrant and compelling slice of life I've been privy to in a great while.' - Claire Lombardo, author of The Most Fun We Ever Had'Splendidly unsentimental, quirky, witty, smart and a complete one-off.' - Clare Chambers, author of Small Pleasures

Information

Other Formats

£9.99

£8.24

Information