The Boy I Am, Paperback / softback Book

The Boy I Am Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

  • Information

Description

They say we're dangerous. But we're not that different. Jude is running out of time. Once a year, lucky young men in the House of Boys are auctioned to the female elite.

But if Jude fails to be selected before he turns seventeen, a future deep underground in the mines awaits. Yet ever since the death of his best friend at the hands of the all-powerful Chancellor, Jude has been desperate to escape the path set out for him.

Finding himself entangled in a plot to assassinate the Chancellor, he finally has a chance to avenge his friend and win his freedom.

But at what price? A speculative YA thriller, tackling themes of traditional gender roles and power dynamics, for fans of Malorie Blackman, Louise O'Neill and THE POWER. "Brutal, uncompromising and edge-of-your-seat action all the way through" - Alex Bell, author of FROZEN CHARLOTTE"The best kind of up-all-night dystopian YA, thought-provoking, different and above all, an extraordinarily exciting story, whose main character, Jude, will stay with me for a very long time" Lucy Coats"It's a gutsy, intelligent, tension-building tale.

A bit Handmaid's Tale, a bit Mad Max, and a creature all its own." Sinead O'Hart, author of THE EYE OF THE NORTH"Mind blowingly good.

Love it. It's going to get readers thinking." Dr Vanessa Harbour"A dark, thought-provoking dystopian that is gorgeously written too" Amy McCaw, author of MINA AND THE UNDEAD"It's so gripping and tense and thought-provoking" Ben Oliver, author of THE LOOP

Information

Other Formats

£8.02