Chronology of the Cold War : 1917-1992, Hardback Book

Chronology of the Cold War : 1917-1992 Hardback

Edited by Richard Dean Burns



More than just a timeline, the Chronology of the Cold War is in-depth chronological narrative organized into sections.

Each section carries a clear date and summary heading.

The five major sections are I. Cold Peace, 1917-1940II. The Strange Alliance, 1941-1945III. Containment and Detente, 1946-1975IV. Confrontation & Conciliation, 1976-1991V. EpilogueBased on sections of the Chronological History of U.S.

Foreign Relations (Routledge 2003), the book includes significant additional material on Russia, China, arms control, and the Cold War in the Third World.

This easy-to-use reference also includes an introductory section reviewing the history leading up to the Cold War from 1917 to 1945, a general bibliography of resources on the Cold War and is illustrated with photographs from presidential libraries and 18 maps.


  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 700 pages, 109 Halftones, black and white; 129 Illustrations, black and white
  • Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: General & world history
  • ISBN: 9780415973397



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Lester H. Brune



Available with free
standard delivery



Available with free
standard delivery



Available with free
standard delivery