The Railway Girls, Paperback / softback Book

The Railway Girls Paperback / softback

Share

Description

__________________________________The first novel in the wonderful new Railway Girls series, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean. In February, 1922, at the western-most entrance to Victoria Station in Manchester, a massive plaque was unveiled.

Beneath a vast tiled map showing the lines of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway network, a series of seven bronze panels recorded the names of the men of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway who gave their lives for King and Country in the Great War - a total of 1,460 names. In March, 1940, a group of women of varying ages and backgrounds, stand in front of the memorial, ready to do their bit in this new World War... _________________________________________Mabel is determined to make a fresh start as a railway girl where no one will know the terrible thing she did and she can put her guilt behind her... Or is she just running away?Meanwhile Joan will never be as good as her sister, or so her Gran keeps telling her.

A new job as a station clerk could be just the thing she needs to forget her troubles at home. And Dot is further into her forties than she cares to admit.

Her beloved sons are away fighting and her husband - well, the less said about him the better.

Ratty old sod. She is anxious to become a railway girl just like her dear mam - anything to feel she is supporting the sons she prays for every night. The three women start off as strangers, but soon form an unbreakable bond that will get them through the toughest of times...

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Cornerstone
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Second World War fiction
  • ISBN: 9781787463967

£7.67

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Maisie Thomas

£7.67

Available with free
standard delivery

£3.99

Available for
immediate download

£10.83

£8.66

Available with free
standard delivery