There Is No Other: With Francesco Turrisi, CD / Album Cd

There Is No Other: With Francesco Turrisi CD / Album

by Rhiannon Giddens



Tracing the overlooked movement of sounds from Africa and the Arabic world and their influence on European and American music, 'There Is No Other' illuminates the universality of music and the commonality of the human experience. It primarily features only Giddens and Turrisi playing one or two instruments together. The album comprises a mix of original songs penned by Giddens and a diverse set of interpretations ranging from Ola Belle Reed's 'I'm Gonna Write Me a Letter', and Oscar Brown, Jr's 'Brown Baby', the Italian traditional 'Pizzica di San Vito' to the aria 'Black Swan' by Gian-Carlo Menotti.

Track Listing

  1. Ten Thousand Voices
  2. Gonna Write Me a Letter
  3. Wayfaring Stranger
  4. There Is No Other
  5. Trees On the Mountains
  6. Pizzica Di San Vito
  7. Brown Baby
  8. Briggs' Forró
  9. Little Margaret
  10. Black Swan
  11. I'm On My Way
  12. He Will See You Through


  • Format: CD / Album
  • Label: Nonesuch
  • Genre: Folk
  • Release Date:
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • EAN: 0075597925302


Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK