Latitudes of Longing : A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, nature, climate and love, Hardback Book

Latitudes of Longing : A prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, nature, climate and love Hardback

Share

Description

** The phenomenal Indian bestseller ** **Winner of the Tata Lit Live Best First Book of the Year Award **'Intense, lyrical, and powerful.

This is a remarkable debut' Jeet Thayil, author of Narcopolis and The Book of Chocolate Saints'Latitudes of Longing is a book to be savoured' The Hindu 'Bold and imaginative' India TodayA prizewinning literary epic of the subcontinent, for readers of Yaa Gyasi's HOMEGOING and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's HALF OF A YELLOW SUN In the feverish tropics of the Andaman Islands, a young botanist tends to a fragile rose he has imported to welcome his bride.

Hoping their marriage will bloom in this strange life, hundreds of miles from the east coast of India, he is entranced by Chanda Devi's fierce nature and unusual gifts; speaking to trees and the ghosts of former colonialists.

These islands, she tells her adoring husband, rest on a faultline, cracked so deep into the earth that spirits cross the boundary freely.

But it is not this fracture that takes a tragic bite out of their happiness. With the family riven by heartbreak, their maid takes the chance to resolve her own past mistakes.

Having abandoned her son many years before, she now traces him to Myanmar, only to find him in prison - the enemy of a brutal regime.

The faultline she followed over the Indian Ocean now cuts north into Nepal, where the prisoner's ally, an itinerant drug dealer, tries to rescue a young woman from the dancing bars of Kathmandu.

It shadows his footsteps into the Karakoram mountains, where a scientist looks deep into the abyss between India and Pakistan.

It rises all the way to the snow deserts, beyond the reach of nation or war, where an elder of the village waits for the return of his true love, bringing all their journeys full circle. A breathtaking epic, Latitudes of Longing possesses the reader with a blazing sense of wonder.

Shubhangi Swarup's vision goes deeper than the human stories of the subcontinent to reveal the conscious history of the earth itself.

Tender in every detail, touched with humour and profound humanity, this is a novel brimming with life, an original masterpiece.

Information

£16.99

£13.53

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Shubhangi Swarup

£4.99

Available for
immediate download