Street Fighting Years (Box Set), CD / Box Set Cd

Street Fighting Years (Box Set) CD / Box Set

by Simple Minds



'Street Fighting Years', originally released in May 1989 and produced by Trevor Horn (and Stephen Lipson), was Simple Minds' eighth studio album. Recorded in Scotland between 1988 and 1989, during a period of personnel changes within the band, the album was a departure from the band's previous sound. While still maintaining the Arena Rock sound the band were known for, they moved away from the Soul influences on their previous records and embraced a new Celtic/Folk sound. The lyrics built on the more political themes which the band had introduced with 'Ghost Dancing', covering topics such as the poll tax, the Irish 'Troubles', and political activists including Nelson Mandela and Steven Biko. This box set edition features the original studio album on Disc 1, a selection of B-Sides and remixes on Disc 2, and the band's 1989 live concert in Verona, Italy, on Discs 3 and 4.

Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. Street Fighting Years
  2. Soul Crying Out
  3. Wall of Love
  4. This Is Your Land
  5. Take a Step Back
  6. Kick It In
  7. Let It All Come Down
  8. Mandela Day
  9. Belfast Child
  10. Biko
  11. When Spirits Rise
Disc 2
  1. Belfast Child (Edit)
  2. Mandela Day (Edit)
  3. This Is Your Land (Edit)
  4. Saturday Girl
  5. Year of the Dragon
  6. This Is Your Land (DJ Version)
  7. Kick It In (Edit)
  8. Waterfront ('89 Remix)
  9. Big Sleep
  10. Kick It In (Unauthorised Mix)
  11. Sign O' the Times (Edit)
  12. Let It All Come Down (Edit)
  13. Sign O' the Times
  14. Jerusalem
  15. Sign O' the Times (C.J. Mackintosh Remix)
Disc 3
  1. Theme for Great Cities '90
  2. When Spirits Rise
  3. Street Fighting Years
  4. Mandela Day
  5. This Is Your Land
  6. Soul Crying Out
  7. Waterfront
  8. Ghost Dancing
  9. Book of Brilliant Things
  10. Don't You (Forget About Me)
Disc 4
  1. Gaelic Melody
  2. Kick It In
  3. Let It All Come Down
  4. Belfast Child
  5. Sun City
  6. Biko
  7. Sanctify Yourself
  8. East at Easter
  9. Alive and Kicking


  • Format: CD / Box Set
  • Label: UMC
  • Genre: Rock/Pop
  • Release Date:
  • Number of Discs: 4
  • EAN: 0602577015649


Free delivery within the UK