The Vanishing, Paperback Book

The Vanishing Paperback



'Think Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre, but ten times darker, and you have The Vanishing ... as dark and eerie and gothic as the Yorkshire Moors it is set on.

One to curl up by the fire with on a windy night' StylistOn top of the Yorkshire Moors, in an isolated spot carved out of a barren landscape, lies White Windows, a house of shadows and secrets.

Here lives Marcus Twentyman, a hard-drinking but sensitive man, and his sister, the brisk widow, Hester. When runaway Annaleigh first meets the Twentymans, their offer of employment and lodgings seems a blessing.

Only later does she discover the truth. But by then she is already in the middle of a web of darkness and intrigue, where murder seems the only possible means of escape... Already a Sunday Times bestselling author with her first novel, The Vanishing confirms Sophia Tobin as a rising star.

Stunning, twisting historical fiction for fans of Jessie Burton and Tracy Chevalier. `Undeniably page-turning' Mail on Sunday `Entertaining' Times `Vivid, absorbing and wonderfully gothic, with shades of Sarah Waters and Emily and Charlotte Bronte' Kate Riordan `Brilliantly Bronte-esque.

Perfect reading for a stormy night' Anna Mazzola `A vivid sense of the period ... which stays with the reader long after the final page' the i `The plotting is skilful, with a network of lies being woven so that no one, characters or readers, can be sure of the truth' Daily Express `Atmosphere aplenty and some real surprises' Daily Mail `Echoes Wuthering Heights with its setting and sense of intrigue' Red `An atmospheric tale of betrayal and revenge' woman&home `A thrilling, atmospheric page-turner' Metro


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781471151620



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Sophia Tobin   |  View all



Available with free
standard delivery


Available for
immediate download