The Woman in the Photograph, Paperback / softback Book

The Woman in the Photograph Paperback / softback

Share

Description

An empowering, feminist and moving novel that will change the way you see the world.

Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon. 1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham.

So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship.

Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has.

She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change. Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life.

Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century. Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece.

Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir.

It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light. Praise for The Woman in the Photograph: 'Imaginative and moving novel - a must-read for any feminist' Katie Fforde 'I absolutely loved The Woman in the Photograph, a compelling, original and thought-provoking look at feminism and the power of female friendships' Sarah Franklin 'What a glorious combination: Stephanie's warm intelligence brought to bear on the complexities of second-wave feminism.

I ate the book up' Shelley Harris 'Refreshing and thought-provoking . . . a stirring exploration of female friendship and the fight for equality' Carys Bray

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Photography & photographs
  • ISBN: 9781785768965

£8.99

£7.08

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK