Fortune Favours the Dead : A dazzling murder mystery set in 1940s New York, Paperback / softback Book

Fortune Favours the Dead : A dazzling murder mystery set in 1940s New York Paperback / softback

Part of the Pentecost and Parker series

Paperback / softback

  • Information

Description

A 2020 Radio 2 Book Club pick. Perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club. 'Razor-sharp, tons of flair. A really good noir novel.' Tana FrenchNew York, 1945.

Lillian Pentecost is the most successful private detective in the city, but her health is failing.

She hires an assistant to help with the investigative legwork.

Willowjean Parker is a circus runaway. Quick-witted and street-smart, she's a jack-of-all-trades with a unique skill-set.

She can pick locks blindfolded, wrestle men twice her size, and throw knives with deadly precision - all of which come in handy working for Ms P. When wealthy young widow Abigail Collins is murdered and the police are making no progress, Pentecost and Parker are hired by the family to track down the culprit.

On Halloween night, there was a costume party at the Collins' mansion, where a fortune teller performed a seance which greatly disturbed Abigail.

Several hours later her body was discovered bludgeoned to death in her late husband's office.

Problem is, the door to the office was locked from the inside.

There was no-one else in the room, and the murder weapon was beside the victim; the fortune teller's crystal ball. It looks like an impossible crime, but Pentecost and Parker know there is no such thing... Praise for Fortune Favours the Dead:'Spotswood's stellar debut puts a modern spin on classic hard-boiled fiction. . . The deep and sensitive characterization of the two protagonists, coupled with rich description and tonally spot-on humour, make this a novel to remember.

Spotswood is definitely a writer to watch.' Publishers Weekly'This novel not only offers fun, offbeat characters and an exceptional flavour of the time, it's utterly charming too.' Woman's Weekly'This hugely enjoyable debut is a deft melange of Agatha Christie-style locked-room murder mystery and 1940s Chandler-esque pulp crime fiction with a feisty narrator' Irish Independent Review'Persuasive in its attention to period detail and dialogue, with well-constructed set piece scenes deftly staged, this is a highly accomplished, auspicious first entry in what we must hope will be a long-running series' The Irish Times

Information

Other Formats

£8.99

£8.85

Information