The Secrets We Keep, Paperback / softback Book

The Secrets We Keep Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

  • Information

Description

'Truly gripping... I loved it.' Jill Mansell, Sunday Times bestseller A heartbreakingly beautiful novel which captures the endurance and strength of ordinary people in the darkest of times, and the courage of one woman who put her life on the line to join the resistance.

Perfect for fans of The Nightingale and The Secret Messenger. 1944, the Cote d'Azur. Artist Marguerite Segal is recruited by British Intelligence into befriending Etienne Valade, a local priest.

Her mission is to persuade him to pass on information from the high-ranking German officers who attend his church: evidence of their war crimes. Connected by a passion for art, Marguerite and Etienne soon fall in love, but their association increasingly puts her at danger of violent reprisals.

With his church frequented by Nazis, Etienne is a suspected collaborator, and distrust is high. And Marguerite is keeping her own secret too.

Like the Jews whose identity cards she forges to hide them from the Third Reich, she is hiding behind a false name, her true identity and past known only to her closest friend. Marguerite must get hold of the documents that will condemn the German officers but, in a world where everything is at stake, can she truly trust anyone - even the man she loves? Praise for The Secrets We Keep: 'War, passion and tragedy unite in this atmospheric and moving tale.' S D Sykes, author of the Oswald de Lacy Medieval Murders series 'A wonderfully immersive, emotional read.' Annabelle Thorpe, author of The Enemy of Love 'I stayed up late into the night to finish...

A thrilling, exciting story... You might want to have some tissues handy.' Reader review 'I enjoyed this novel very much!' Reader review 'I highly recommend reading this.' Reader review 'Wonderful.' Reader review

Information

Other Formats

£9.19

Information