The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton, Paperback

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton Paperback



From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty, emotional saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope. 1920, Durham. Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm.

But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival.

Joe Hardy has returned to London after the Great War to find his life in tatters - his father is dead and his pregnant fiancee has disappeared.

Then Joe learns he's unexpectedly inherited an old river house in Durham from a stranger called Margaret Lee.

With nothing left for him in London, he makes arrangements to travel north and claim it.

Lucy's determination has finally secured her a job as a legal secretary, campaigning for the rights of the poorest in society.

As Joe arrives in her office to collect the keys to his new home, she promises to help him uncover information about his mystery benefactor.

But before long, the past comes back to haunt them both, with shocking consequences...


  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Quercus Publishing
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical fiction
  • ISBN: 9781780878492



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Elizabeth Gill   |  View all