George Frideric Handel: Samson, CD / Album

George Frideric Handel: Samson CD / Album


Track Listing

Disc 1
  1. Overture
  2. This Day, a Solemn Feast to Dagon Held
  3. Awake the Trumpet's Lofty Sound!
  4. Ye Men of Gaza
  5. Awake the Trumpet's Lofty Sound!
  6. Loud As the Thunder's Awful Voice
  7. Then Free from Sorrow, Free from Thrall
  8. Awake the Trumpet's Lofty Sound!
  9. Why By an Angel Was My Birth Foretold
  10. Torments Alas! Are Not Confin'd
  11. O Change Beyond Report, Thought, Or Belief!
  12. O Mirror of Our Fickle State
  13. Whom Have I to Complain of But Myself
  14. Totel Eclipse!
  15. Since Light So Necessary Is to Life
  16. Oh First Created Beam!
  17. Ye See, My Friends, How Woes Enclosed Me Round
  18. Brethren and Men of Dan, Say, Where Is My Son
  19. Oh Miserable Change!
  20. Oh Ever Failing Trust in Mortal Strength!
  21. God of Our Fathers, What Is Man?
  22. The Good We Wish For, Often Proves Our Bane
  23. Thy Glorious Deeds Inspir'd My Tongue
  24. Justly These Evils Have Befall'n Thy Son
  25. My Griefs for This
  26. Why Does the God of Israel Sleep?
  27. These Lies Our Hope!
  28. Then Shall They Know
  29. For Thee, My Dearest Son
  30. Then Long Eternity Shall Greet Your Bliss
  31. Then Round About the Starry Throne
Disc 2
  1. Despair Not Thus!
  2. Just Are the Ways of God to Man
  3. My Evils Hopeless Are!
  4. Return, Oh God of Hosts! - To Dust His Glory
  5. But Who Is This, That So Bedeck'd and Gay
  6. With Plaintive Notes and Am'rous Moan
  7. Alas! Th'event Was Worse Than I Foresaw
  8. Your Charms to Ruin Led the Way
  9. Forgive What's Done, Nor Think of What's Past Cure
  10. My Faith and Truth - Her Faith and Truth
  11. To Fleeting Pleasures Make Your Court - Her Faith and Truth
  12. Ne'er Think of That!
  13. Traitor to Love! - She's Gone!
  14. It Is Not Virtue, Valour, Wit
  15. Favour'd of Heaven Is He
  16. To Man God's Universal Law
  17. No Words of Peace
  18. Honour and Arms Scorn Such a Foe
  19. Put On Your Arms
  20. My Strength Is from the Living God
  21. With Thee! A Man Condemn'd
  22. Go, Baffled Coward, Go
  23. Here Lie the Proof
  24. Hear, Jacob's God, Jehovah
  25. Dagon, Arise!
  26. To Song and Dance We Give the Day
  27. To Song and Dance We Give the Day
  28. Fix'd in His Everlasting Seat
Disc 3
  1. More Trouble Is Behind
  2. Presuming Slave, to Move Their Wrath
  3. Reflect Then, Samson, Matters Now Are Strain'd
  4. With Thunder Arm'd Great God, Arise!
  5. Be of Good Courage
  6. Thus When the Sun From's Wat'ry Bed
  7. With Might Endued Above the Sons of Men
  8. The Holy One of Israel Be Thy Guide - To Fame Immortal Go
  9. Old Manoa, With Youthful Steps, Makes Haste
  10. Great Dagon Has Subdued Our Foe
  11. What Noise of Joy Was That?
  12. How Willing My Paternal Love
  13. Your Hopes of His Deliv'ry Seem Not Vain - Hear Us, Our God!
  14. Noise Call You This
  15. Where Shall I Run
  16. Ye Sons of Israel, Now Lament - Weep Israel
  17. Proceed We Hence to Find His Body
  18. Dead March
  19. The Body Comes
  20. Glorious Hero, May Thy Grave Peace
  21. Come! No Time for Lamentation Now
  22. Let the Bright Seraphim in Burning Row


  • Format: CD / Album
  • Label: Coro
  • Genre: Classical
  • Release Date:
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • EAN: 0828021600821


Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK