The House at Riverton, Paperback

The House at Riverton Paperback



Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life.

The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again.

Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide.

Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks.

A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could.

A thrilling mystery and a compelling love story, "The House at Riverton" will appeal to readers of Ian McEwan's "Atonement", L.P.

Hartley's "The Go-Between", and lovers of the film "Gosford Park".




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK