Intermission, Hardback



New York, June 1961. "The Bill Evans Trio", featuring twenty-five year old Scott LaFaro on bass, play a series of concerts at the Village Vanguard that will go down in musical history.

Shortly afterwards, LaFaro is killed in a car accident, and Evans disappears. "Intermission" tells the story of what happens next.

In measured, evocative prose, "Intermission" takes a period from the life of one of America's great artists and fashions it into a fiction of extraordinary imaginative skill and ambition.

The novel inhabits the lives of four people in orbit around a tragedy, presenting an intense and moving portrait of the burden of grief, and of a man lost to his family and to himself.

It is also a conjuring of a pivotal moment in American music and culture, and a unique representation of the jazz scene in the early 1960s. "Intermission" is a novel of pure control and power, certain to establish Owen Martell as one of the most promising young writers in Britain today.




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Owen Martell



Available with free
standard delivery


Available for
immediate download