The Last Highlander : Scotland's Most Notorious Clan-Chief, Rebel and Double-Agent, Paperback

The Last Highlander : Scotland's Most Notorious Clan-Chief, Rebel and Double-Agent Paperback

Share

Description

Fans of C.J. Sansom and Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series must read this Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year - a great non-fiction adventure about Scotland's most notorious clan chief.

Simon Fraser, Lord Lovat, was the last of the great Scottish chiefs - and the last nobleman executed for treason.

Determined to seek his fortune with the exiled Jacobite king in France, Fraser acted as a spy for both the Stuarts and the Hanoverians; claimed to be both Protestant and Roman Catholic.

In July 1745, Bonnie Prince Charlie launched his last attempt to seize back the throne, supported by Fraser and his clans.

They were defeated at Culloden. Fraser was found hiding in a tree. This swashbuckling spy story recreates an extraordinary period of history in its retelling of Fraser's life.

He is surely one of Scotland's most notorious and romantic figures, a cunning and ambitious soldier who died a martyr for his country and an independent Scotland.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 288 pages, black & white illustrations, maps, frontispiece, colour plates
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Biography: historical, political & military
  • ISBN: 9780007229505

£9.99

£8.54

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Sarah Fraser   |  View all

£25.00

£16.88

Available with free
standard delivery

£10.50

£8.40

Available for
immediate download

£5.74

Available for
immediate download