A Kind of Loving, Paperback



Stan Barstow's landmark 'Brit-Lit' novel of the sixties immortalized Vic Brown, the amiable working class lad from the North and led the way for author's like Nick Hornby writing similar slice-of-life drama.

Still as fresh and alive today, it spawned two sequels: The Watchers on the Shore (1966) and The Right True End (1976).

First published in 1960, it has long been used as a set text in British schools.

It has also been translated at various times into a film starring Alan Bates (1962) of the same name, a television series (1973) starring Clive Wood, a radio play and a stage play.

A Kind of Loving was the first of a trilogy, published over the course of sixteen years, that followed hero Vic Brown through marriage, divorce and a move from the mining town of Cressley to London.

This new edition includes an afterword by David Collard.




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Stan Barstow



Available for
immediate download