The Long Flight Home : a heart-breaking and uplifting World War 2 love story, Paperback / softback Book

The Long Flight Home : a heart-breaking and uplifting World War 2 love story Paperback / softback

Share

Description

A heart-breaking and moving story of love and sacrifice, set against the backdrop of the Blitz. Inspired by true events, and perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Dear Mrs Bird***Is love strong enough to survive a war?September 1940. As enemy fighter planes blacken the sky, Susan Shepherd finds comfort at her home in Epping Forest, where she and her grandfather raise homing pigeons.

Of all Susan's birds, it's Duchess who is the most extraordinary, and the two share a special bond. Thousands of miles away, Ollie Evans, a young American pilot decides to travel to Britain to join the Royal Air Force.

But Ollie doesn't expect his quest to bring him instead to the National Pigeon Service - a covert new operation involving homing pigeons - and to Susan. The National Pigeon Service has a dangerous mission to air-drop hundreds of pigeons into German-occupied France.

Despite their growing friendship Ollie and Susan must soon be parted - but will Duchess's devotion and sense of duty prove to be an unexpected lifeline between them?Based on true events, The Long Flight Home is an uplifting and timeless wartime novel, that reminds us how, in times of hardship, hope is never truly lost.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: True war & combat stories
  • ISBN: 9781529311464

£8.99

£8.36

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by A.L. Hlad

£3.99

Available for
immediate download