Death in a Desert Land, Hardback Book

Death in a Desert Land Hardback

Share

Description

'Fiendishly well-plotted, hugely entertaining - one feels Agatha Christie would have been delighted' - LUCY FOLEY, bestselling author of The Hunting PartyI'm Mrs Christie.

I think you are expecting me... Baghdad, 1928. Agatha leaves England for the far-flung destination, determined to investigate an unresolved mystery: two year ago, the explorer and the writer Gertrude Bell died there from a drugs overdose.

At the time, the authorities believed that Bell had taken her own life, but a letter now unearthed reveals she was afraid someone wants to kill her... In her letter, Bell suggests that if she were to die the best place to look for her murderer would be Ur, the archaeological site in ancient Mesopotamia famous for its Great Death Pit. But as Agatha stealthily begins to look into the death of Gertrude Bell, she soon discovers the mission is not without its risks. And she has to use all her skills to try and outwit a killer who is determined to stay hidden among the desert sands... 'A heart of darkness beats within this sparkling series.

Fizzy with charm yet edge with menace, Andrew Wilson's Christie novels do Dame Agatha proud' A.

J. FINN, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window'Beautifully written.

Both lyrical and compelling. I felt as though I was walking by Agatha Christie's side' JANE CORRY'An affectionate homage to Agatha Christie's desert dramas with a cheeky nod to Paul Bowles' The Sheltering Sky. A superior blend of fact and fiction, it's a hugely entertaining riot of red herrings, poisonous plots and boiling passions under the white hot desert sun.

A must for connoisseurs of Golden Age crime fiction' SEAN O'CONNOR'Five stars . . . Brilliantly plotted, stylishly written. A treat!' AMANDA CRAIG'Wilson cleverly riffs on one of Christie's own novels en route to a crafty and satisfying solution.

Wilson strikes gold again' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY'Fans of Agatha Christie and Sophie Hannah will welcome this latest in Wilson's series starring Christie as an amateur sleuth . . . the enjoyably exasperating characters involved in this well-executed mystery are a treat, too' BOOKLISTPraise for Andrew Wilson: 'Wilson not only knows his subject but he deftly moves the tale away from mere literary ventriloquism and into darker territory.

Great fun, too' - Observer 'Reinvents the story of Agatha Christie'smysterious disappearance with thrilling results' - Guardian

Information

  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical mysteries
  • ISBN: 9781471173479

£16.99

£12.95

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK