Miracles at the Jesus Oak : Histories of the Supernatural in Reformation Europe, Paperback / softback Book

Miracles at the Jesus Oak : Histories of the Supernatural in Reformation Europe Paperback / softback

Share

Description

In the tradition of The Return of Martin Guerre and The Great Cat Massacre, Miracles at the Jesus Oak is a rich, evocative journey into the past and the extraordinary events that transformed the lives of ordinary people.

In the musty archive of a Belgian abbey, historian Craig Harline happened upon a vast collection of documents written in the seventeenth century by people who claimed to have experienced miracles and wonders.

In Miracles at the Jesus Oak, Harline recasts these testimonies into engaging vignettes that open a window onto the believers, unbelievers, and religious movements of Catholic Europe in the Age of Reformation. Written with grace and charm, Miracles at the Jesus Oak is popular history at its most informative and enlightening.

Information

  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Yale University Press
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: History of religion
  • ISBN: 9780300167023

£21.00

£18.59

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK