The Comfort of Others, Hardback Book

The Comfort of Others Hardback

Share

Description

'Reading it on the train I had to fight not to sob in public . . . Langdale is a wonderful writer' (Daily Mail on Away from You) Perfect for readers of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell.

Minnie and her sister Clara, spinsters both, live in a dilapidated country house in the middle of a housing estate, built when their father sold off the family's land.

Now in their seventies, their days follow a well-established routine: long gone are the garden parties, the tennis lessons and their suffocatingly strict mother.

Gone, too, is any mention of what happened when Minnie was sixteen, and the secret the family buried in the grounds of their estate.Directly opposite them lives Max, an 11-year-old whose life with his mum has changed beyond recognition since her new boyfriend arrived.

Cast aside, he takes solace in Minnie's careful routine, observed through his bedroom window.Over the course of the summer, both begin to tell their stories: Max through a Dictaphone, Minnie through a diary.

As their tales intertwine, ghosts are put to rest and challenges faced, in a story that is as dark as it is uplifting.

Information

£19.99

£14.27

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Kay Langdale   |  View all

£8.99

£7.29

Available with free
standard delivery

£7.99

£6.75

Available with free
standard delivery