Billy Liar, Paperback / softback Book

Billy Liar Paperback / softback

Part of the Penguin Decades series



Penguin Decades bring you the novels that helped shape modern Britain.

When they were published, some were bestsellers, some were considered scandalous, and others were simply misunderstood.

All represent their time and helped define their generation, while today each is considered a landmark work of storytelling. Keith Waterhouse's Billy Liar was published in 1959, and captures brilliantly the claustrophobic atmosphere of a small town.

It tells the story of Billy Fisher, a Yorkshire teenager unable to stop lying - especially to his three girlfriends.

Trapped by his boring job and working-class parents, Billy finds that his only happiness lies in grand plans for his future and fantastical day-dreams of the fictional country Ambrosia.




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK