The Michael Morpurgo War Collection, Paperback Book

The Michael Morpurgo War Collection Paperback

Share

Description

Three gripping war stories from the front line of children's fiction from Britain's best-loved children's author, Michael Morpurgo. This superb collection of war stories includes:War HorseIn 1914, Joey, a young farm horse, is sold to the army and thrust into the midst of the war on the Western Front. Friend or FoeEvacuated from London, David and Tucky feel like the war is a long way away from their new life.

Then one night the skyline of the moor is lit up with gun flashes, and the distant crump of bombing . . . Waiting for AnyaIt is World War II and Jo stumbles on a dangerous secret: Jewish children are being smuggled away from the Nazis, close to his mountain village.

Now German soldiers are at the border and Jo must get word to his friends that the children are trapped. The former Children's Laureate again demonstrates why he is considered to be the master storyteller.

In the tradition of Goodnight Mr Tom, Carrie's War, and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, this collection of war stories takes children to the heart of a tumultuous period in history.

A fantastic gift book for the young avid reader that will provide excellent context for children studying WWII. Michael has written more than one hundred books for children including An Eagle in the Snow, Listen to the Moon, Private Peaceful, and An Elephant in the Garden.

He has won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children's Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512 pages
  • Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: General
  • ISBN: 9781405266017

£9.99

£8.54

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Michael Morpurgo   |  View all