Waiting for Anya, Paperback Book

Waiting for Anya Paperback

Share

Description

A gripping World War II adventure from War Horse author and former Children's Laureate, Michael Morpurgo.

Jo did not stop until he'd shut the door behind him and even then his heart could not stop pounding in his ears.

Jo finds out that Jewish children are being smuggled away from the Nazis over the mountains near his village. All goes to plan until German soldiers start patrolling the mountains, and Jo realises the children are trapped.

Jo'EURO(t)s slightest mistake could have devastating consequences ...Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and Guardian Fiction award In the tradition of Goodnight Mr Tom, Carrie's War, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and perfect for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Waiting for Anya is a novel that takes children to the heart of a tumultuous period in history.

It will provide a wider context for kids who have studied the Holocaust and The Diary of Anne Frank.

Other Michael Morpurgo titles you may enjoy: The Eagle in the Snow Listen to the Moon A Twist of Gold Private Peaceful ------ Former Children's Laureate Michael Morpurgo needs no introduction. He is one of the most successful children's authors in the country, loved by children, teachers and parents alike.

Michael has written more than forty books for children including the global hit War Horse, which was made into a Hollywood film by Steven Spielberg in 2011.

Several of his other stories have been adapted for screen and stage, including My Friend Walter, Why the Whales Came and Kensuke's Kingdom.

Michael has won the Whitbread Award, the Smarties Award, the Circle of Gold Award, the Children's Book Award and has been short-listed for the Carnegie Medal four times.

He started the charity Farms for City Children in 1976 with his wife, Clare, aimed at relieving the "poverty of experience" many young children feel in inner city and urban areas.

Michael is also a patron of over a dozen other charities.

Living in Devon, listening to Mozart and working with children have provided Michael with the ideas and incentive to write his stories.

He spends half his life mucking out sheds with the children, feeding sheep or milking cows; the other half he spends dreaming up and writing stories for children. "For me, the greater part of writing is daydreaming, dreaming the dream of my story until it hatches out - the writing down of it I always find hard.

But I love finishing it, then holding the book in my hand and sharing my dream with my readers." Michael received an OBE in December 2006 for his services to literature.

Information

  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Historical
  • ISBN: 9781405229272

£6.99

£5.98

Free delivery within the UK
Free
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also by Michael Morpurgo   |  View all