The Cambridge Companion to Brahms, Paperback Book

The Cambridge Companion to Brahms Paperback

Edited by Michael Musgrave

Part of the Cambridge Companions to Music series



This Companion gives a comprehensive view of the German composer Johannes Brahms (1833-97).

Twelve specially-commissioned chapters by leading scholars and musicians provide systematic coverage of the composer's life and works.

Their essays represent recent research and reflect changing attitudes towards a composer whose public image has long been out-of-date.

The first part of the book contains three chapters on Brahms's early life in Hamburg and on the middle and later years in Vienna.

The central section considers the musical works in all genres, while the last part of the book offers personal accounts and responses from a conductor (Roger Norrington), a composer (Hugh Wood), and an editor of Brahms's original manuscripts (Robert Pascall).

The volume as a whole is an important addition to Brahms scholarship and provides indispensable information for all students and enthusiasts of Brahms's music.




Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also in the Cambridge Companions to Music series   |  View all