The Complete Euripides : Volume III: Hippolytos and Other Plays, Paperback / softback Book

The Complete Euripides : Volume III: Hippolytos and Other Plays Paperback / softback

Edited by Peter Burian, Alan Shapiro

Part of the Greek Tragedy in New Translations series



Based on the conviction that only translators who write poetry themselves can properly re-create the celebrated and timeless tragedies of Aeschylus, Sophocles, and Euripides, the Greek Tragedy in New Translations offers new translations that go beyond the literal meaning of the Greek in order to evoke the poetry of the originals. Collected here for the first time in the series are four major works by Euripides all set in Athens: Hippoltos, translated by Robert Bagg, a dramatic interpretation of the tragedy of Phaidra; Suppliant Women, translated by Rosanna Warren and Steven Scully, a powerful examination of the human psyche; Ion, translated by W.

S. Di Piero and Peter Burian, a complex enactment of the changing relations between the human and divine orders; and The Children ofHerakles, translated by Henry Taylor and Robert A.

Brooks, a descriptive tale of the descendants of Herakles and their journey home.

These four tragedies were originally avialble as single volumes.

This volume retains the informative introductions and explanatory notes of the original editions and adds a single combines glossary and Greekline numbers.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 382 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press Inc
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Plays, playscripts
  • ISBN: 9780195388770



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK

Also in the Greek Tragedy in New Translations series   |  View all





Available for
immediate download



Available for
immediate download