Two Storm Wood : the must-read historical thriller and the Times Book of the Month, Hardback Book

Two Storm Wood : the must-read historical thriller and the Times Book of the Month Hardback

Hardback

  • Information

Description

*A TIMES THRILLER OF THE MONTH*'The world has been waiting for a worthy successor to Sebastian Faulks' Birdsong - now Philip Gray has delivered it' David Young, author of Stasi ChildTHE GUNS ARE SILENT.

THE DEAD ARE NOT. 1919. On the desolate battlefields of northern France, the guns of the Great War are silent.

Special battalions now face the dangerous task of gathering up the dead for mass burial. Captain Mackenzie, a survivor of the war, cannot yet bring himself to go home.

First he must see that his fallen comrades are recovered and laid to rest.

His task is upended when a gruesome discovery is made beneath the ruins of a German strongpoint. Amy Vanneck's fiance is one soldier lost amongst many, but she cannot accept that his body may never be found.

She heads to France, determined to discover what became of the man she loved. It soon becomes clear that what Mackenzie has uncovered is a war crime of inhuman savagery.

As the dark truth leaches out, both he and Amy are drawn into the hunt for a psychopath, one for whom the atrocity at Two Storm Wood is not an end, but a beginning. For fans of Ben MacIntyre, Munich by Robert Harris and Child 44 by Tom Rob Smith. 'Haunting, cinematic, and utterly gripping' D.B. John, author of Star of the North'Atmospheric and meticulously researched... sheds light on the horrors and the trauma that continued even after the Armistice...a novel that informs while keeping you on the edge of your seat' Abir Mukherjee, author of The Shadows of Men'Gray succeeds in entwining two powerful tales - a love story and a hate story - in a way that, right from the shocking start, is both convincing and enthralling' Virginia Baily, author of Sunday Times bestseller Early One Morning

Information

Other Formats

£14.99

£11.99

Information