Scholarly Research for Musicians, Paperback / softback Book

Scholarly Research for Musicians Paperback / softback



Scholarly Research for Musicians presents a range of research methods and techniques, incorporating both the common elements of traditional music research methodologies with innovative research strategies endemic to the fields of social science, education, and performance science.

The author's collaborative and interdisciplinary approach reinforces the belief that research is most palpable and successful when accessed through a relevant and meaningful way of organizing thoughts and knowledge. Drawing from over twenty years of classroom experience, the author organizes the text into five units: Common Bases, Qualitative Research, Quantitative Research, Performance Science, and Review.

Research is presented as an accessible process, one facilitated by brainstorming and question-asking, the systematic collection of information, and the analysis and synthesis of information-all with the aim to develop a succinct conceptual framework.

In explicating this process, the author introduces traditional Western thought alongside contemporary and Eastern philosophy.

Experts in the field of performance science explore novel approaches to studying the audience, incorporating various measuring devices and methods.

In the final chapter, the author offers strategies for disseminating and publishing research reports. Scholarly Research for Musicians demystifies the research process for musicians and music students alike, demonstrating the common principles of cohesive research plans.

PowerPoint presentations are available to instructors, covering chapter discussion points in summary format.

This text explores interdisciplinary methods that merge with and focus on the study of music while emphasizing concepts and materials relevant to all types of research.


  • Format: Paperback / softback
  • Pages: 182 pages, 8 Line drawings, black and white; 25 Halftones, black and white; 28 Tables, black and whi
  • Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • Publication Date:
  • Category: Music
  • ISBN: 9781138208896



Free delivery within the UK
Standard Delivery
Within the UK