Beautiful Days, Paperback / softback Book

Beautiful Days Paperback / softback

Paperback / softback

  • Information

Description

Deeply uncanny and hauntingly resonant – strange stories about modern America, for fans of George Saunders, Mariana Enriquez and Shirley Jackson'One of 2024’s superlative debuts - this writer’s got talent to burn' Washington Post'These stories will change you' Jonathan Safran Foer A young family is trapped in a time loop in an idyllic holiday cabin.

A middle-aged man becomes convinced that his disappointing son is an impostor.

Two brothers take a midnight ride in a golf cart and run into trouble.

The elderly tour guide at an alien contact site loses control of his guests.

Meanwhile, all around them, America is dissolving, fragmenting, distorting beyond recognition. The antiheroes of Beautiful Days are chronic underachievers: men lost in their own lives and plagued by loneliness, self-doubt, suppressed rage.

When the worst happens, they take to the road – crossing the wilderness in stolen cars, riding trains to the end of the line, or cruising along ruined monorails as the skyline burns. Zach Williams' stories are haunted by the ghosts of America – its lost illusions, its dark aspirations, its boundless, disquieting potential.

They leak through the fabric of reality and out into the void beyond. And they reach, ever-hopeful, toward a moment of connection that might pull a body back from the brink.

Information

Other Formats

Save 21%

£14.99

£11.78

Information